Cricket not the only sport to have politicians at helm | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cricket not the only sport to have politicians at helm

india Updated: Jun 01, 2013 01:50 IST
Ht Correspondent
Ht Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Spot-fixing in the T20 league came to light on May 16 when Delhi Police arrested three Rajasthan Royals players — Sreesanth, Ajit Chandila and Ankit Chavan — and bookies.

Mumbai police arrested Meiyappan and actor Vindoo Dara Singh among others. The clamour for Srinivasan's resignation grew among cricket associations and Congress leaders.

Politicians like Kamal Nath and Jyotiraditya Scindia asked Srinivasan to step down. And Prime Minister Manmohan Singh’s comment about not mixing up politics and cricket assumes significance in the context that politicians from both Congress and BJP have roles as cricket administrators and a minister in the Union cabinet Rajiv Sukhla, is the T20 league commissioner.

Vijay Kumar Malhotra
(Senior vice-president & acting chief, Indian Olympic Association; President, Archery Association of India)
The octogenarian is a veteran Bharatiya Janata Pary leader and currently Leader of the Opposition in the Delhi Legislative Assembly. Is in the eye of a storm as he is holding the AAI chief's post for more than four decades.

Raninder Singh
(President, National Rifle Association of India)
The 46-year-old is the son of former Punjab CM, Capt Amarinder Singh. He contested the Lok Sabha polls on Congress ticket in 2009. Lost the 2012 Punjab Assembly elections. The NRAI elections — where he was re-elected president this year — were declared null and void by the Delhi High Court.

Jagdish Tytler
(President, Judo Federation of India)
The 69-year-old Congress veteran is a former MP and was union minister of state for overseas Indian affairs, a position he resigned from after an inquiry was set up to probe his involvement in the 1984 anti-Sikh riots. He denies the charges.

Akhilesh Das Gupta
(President, Badminton Association of India)
The 52-year-old currently represents the BSP in the Rajya Sabha. He started his political career with the Congress and was nominated in 1996 and 2002. Later, he joined the BSP. Son of former UP CM Banarasi Das, he has also served as minister for steel in the Manmohan Singh cabinet.

Abhay Singh Chautala
(Former president, now chairman, Indian Boxing Federation)
He represents the Indian National Lok Dal and was president of the IBF for three terms of four years each, before the Sports Code came in the way of him contesting future elections. He changed his designation to chairman, IBF. Was elected IOA president unopposed.

Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh
(President, Wrestling Federation of India)
Elected to the Lok Sabha from Gonda in Uttar Pradesh as a Bharatiya Janata Party candidate. In 2008, joined the Samajwadi Party. Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha from Kaiserganj constituency in UP in 2009. He was recently appointed as the Wrestling body’s president.

Suresh Kalmadi
(Former president IOA and chairman CWG Organising Committee; Currently president, Asian Athletic Assn)
A Congress MP, a CBI inquiry was initiated against him for allegedly awarding illegal contracts to a Swiss company for a Timing Scoring Result (TSR) system for CWG, which resulted in loss to the government. His Congress membership was suspended. In April 2011, he quit IOA president’s post.