D P Sinha is chairman | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

D P Sinha is chairman

india Updated: Nov 16, 2006 15:23 IST

DAYA PRAKASH Sinha was elected as the chairman of Bharat Bhavan Trust in its first meeting held here on Wednesday. All the trustees of Bharat Bhavan Trust except for BJP Rajya Sabha member and film star Hema Malini and industrialist Sunny Gaur attended the meeting today.

The Central Government has not yet nominated its three nominees in the Trust. Besides Sinha, the Trust also elected four executive members including D D Kamboj (fine arts), Kamal Kishore Goyanka (literature), Dileep Chinchalkar (theatre) and Rajan Mishra (music).

Sinha had been chief executive officer (CEO) and then director of Bharat Bhavan for a couple of years during erstwhile Patwa regime.

His controversial stint as CEO and director was followed by agitation of artistes in Bhopal and when Digvijay Singh Government came to power in 1993, a new Trust Deed was signed and the prestigious multi-arts complex was handed over to artistes.