Delhi polls: The four that got away | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Delhi polls: The four that got away

india Updated: Dec 10, 2013 12:26 IST
Abhijit Patnaik
Abhijit Patnaik
Hindustan Times
Harsh Vardhan

The story could have been completely different for BJP's Harsh Vardhan, who fell short by just four seats in forming a government in Delhi on his own— if only.

In elections, the fate of political parties occasionally depends on a handful of votes. This was true for the BJP in the Delhi assembly elections.

Of the five closest contests in Delhi, won by less than 1,000 votes, four went the Aam Aadmi Party’s way, with BJP winning the remaining one. Had a few hundred votes gone the BJP’s way, they would have had a clear majority with 36 seats in Delhi.

Shazia Ilmi, the AAP’s candidate from south Delhi’s RK Puram constituency, lost to the BJP’s Anil Kumar Sharma by a mere 326 votes. Incumbent Karan Singh Tanwar from Delhi Cantt, who had won in 2008 with a comfortable margin of 7,261 votes, lost to newcomer Surender Singh of the AAP by only 355 votes. It’s not only the Congress which needs to ‘deeply introspect’ the results, it seems.

For the BJP’s Krishan Gahlot in Vikaspuri constituency, it was heart-break for a second time in a row—he had lost the 2008 election to the Congress candidate by 943 votes. What is clear is that in these four constituencies, the Congress’ votes went the AAP’s way, not the BJP’s.

In case Delhi goes for reelections in the next six months, the BJP will perhaps concentrate on these constituencies to give the AAP a tough fight, and edge past the halfway mark.