Delimitation back in focus | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Delimitation back in focus

india Updated: Sep 09, 2006 01:45 IST
Highlight Story

AS THE Delimitation Commission begins hearing suggestions and complaints of the districts around Lucknow on Saturday, the focus is shifting to proposals of delimitation that have drawn flak in view of the changes proposed in the Lok Sabha and Vidhan Sabha constituencies of prominent leaders from Uttar Pradesh.

At Lucknow Chief Election Commissioner N Gopalaswamy and State Election Commissioner Aparamita Prasad Singh are likely to hear the complaints of 16 districts during the two days of hearing here on Saturday and Sunday. Those whose constituencies are being altered or affected include Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Congress MP Rahul Gandhi, Congress MP Jitin Prasad, former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Bajpai, BJP president Rajnath Singh and Leader of Opposition Lalji Tandon.

Assembly constituency of Minister for Agriculture Ashok Bajpai does not find a place in the new list of Assembly constituencies. Hardoi Lok Sabha constituency of Minister for Transport Naresh Agarwal is being taken out of reserved category list while Misrikh Vidhan Sabha constituency of Samajwadi Party MLA Om Prakash Gupta has been put on the list of reserved category seats.

Besides Lucknow, Hardoi and Shahjahanpur the districts that would come up for hearing on Saturday include Kheri, Sitapur, Unnao, Rae Bareli, Sultanpur, Faizabad, Bareilly and Kanpur Nagar. The cases of Baharaich, Sravasti, Balrampur, Gonda and Barabanki districts would, however, be heard on Sunday.

As per proposals Lucknow would now have nine instead of eight Vidhan Sabha constituencies. The new constituencies being added to the list include Bakshi-Ka-Talab, Banthara and Lucknow North. At the same time the existing constituencies of Mahona and Sarojini Nagar do not figure on the list.

Bakshi-Ka-Talab would incorporate many areas of Mahona Assembly constituency while Banthara would have areas of Sarojini Nagar constituency.

Another constituency Lucknow North would incorporate areas of other Assembly constituencies. Bakshi-Ka-Talab Assembly constituency, however, has been taken out of Lucknow Lok Sabha seat of Bajpai and shifted to Mohanlalganj (SC) seat. This would affect the Lok Sabha constituency of former prime minister Atal Bihari Bajpai (who has announced not to contest elections again) and Vidhan Sabha seat of Leader of Opposition Lalji Tandon. BJP president Rajnath Singh’s Haidergarh Vidhan Sabha constituency has also been placed on the list of reserved seats.

The composition of Congress president Sonia Gandhi’s constituency is being changed. Her constituency would now have Rae Bareli, Salon, Unchahar, Rampur Khas and Bishwanathganj. Rahul Gandhi’s Amethi Lok Sabha seat would now have Jagdishpur, Gauriganj, Amethi, Isauli and Sultanpur Vidhan Sabha seats.

Both Isauli and Sultanpur seats are the new Vidhan Sabha seats in Rahul’s constituency. In Rae Bareli district Bachhrawan and Dalmau Assembly constituencies do not find a place on the list while Maharajganj and Unchahar constituencies have been added there.

On the other hand, Hardoi has been deprived of one constituency. There would be eight instead of nine Vidhan Sabha constituencies in the district. Prominent deletions in the district include Pihani, the constituency of Minister for Agriculture Ashok Bajpai.

Other constituencies being deleted in Hardoi include Beniganj, Mallawan, Ahirauri and Bawan. He new names being added there include Sawaijpur, Gopamau (SC), Sandi (SC), Bilgram-Mallawan and Balamau (SC). Hardoi Lok Sabha seat has been taken out of the list of reserved constituencies. The Shahjahanpur Lok Sabha constituency of Congress MP Jitin Prasad has been put on the category of reserved seats. Among Assembly constituencies of Shahjahanpur Nigohi does not figure on the new list while Katra has been added to the list of Vidhan Sabha constituencies.

A new constituency has been added in Lakhimpur-Kheri that would now have eight instead of seven Vidhan Sabha constituencies. Among new constituencies being created there are Gola Gokarannath and Kasta (SC) while the existing Hyderabad constituency does not figure on the list. In Sitapur, Mohali and Sevata have been added as new seats while Behta and Machhreta do not find a place on the list. On the other hand, the Misrikh seat of Samajwadi Party MLA Om Prakash Gupta has been reserved.

Unnao would now have six instead of seven Vidhan Sabha seats. Hadha and Hasanganj seats have been deleted while a (SC) seat Mohan has been added as a new constituency in the district.