DMK, Congress stand-off timeline | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

DMK, Congress stand-off timeline

india Updated: May 23, 2009 15:47 IST
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The stand-off between Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam and Congress has begun just after the election results. The parties have not been able to settle their differences over the cabinet and minsterial berths. Here is a timeline to track the differences -

May 16: The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) front wins 28 seats. The party's hold on Congress, which won 206 of 543

in Parliament, tightens.

May 18: The executive council of the DMK met in Chennai to review the post-poll scenario.

May 19: DMK chief and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M. met Congress president Sonia Gandhi Tuesday to discuss the formation of the new council of ministers at the centre and secure cabinet berths for his party MPs.

May 21: Congress President Sonia Gandhi and Prime Minister Manmohan Singh discuss the situation. They decide to renegotiate with DMK, said Congress sources. Sources also said that Congress is opposed to the inclusion of T R Baalu and A Raja on grounds of performance and alleged corruption which DMK has sought to contest.

May 21: Congress offers three cabinet ministers and four ministers of state in a bid to end the deadlock between the two parties on ministerial berths and portfolios. DMK chief M Karunanidhi hold discussions with his senior party leaders, including N Veeraswamy, Karunanidhi's son M K Stalin, daughter Kanimozhi and grand nephew Dayanidhi Maran.

May 21: The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam and Congress reach a deadlock situation over ministerial berths. Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M Karunanidhi leaves Delhi for Chennai on Friday morning. Talks between Congress and DMK leaders fail to make any headway on the number of ministerial berths and portfolios.

May 21: Unhappy with the Congress proposal on ministerial berths, the Dravida Munnettra Kazhagamdecided to extend outside support to the United Progressive Alliance government at the Centre.

May 22: Even as the DMK decide to stay out of the UPA government for now, its parliamentary party leader T R Baalu said its MPs would attend the swearing-in of Manmohan Singh as Prime Minister.

May 23: Congress leader Gulam Nadi Azad said negotiations are still on between the party and the DMK. Sources in the party said DMK has been offered three cabinet and four minister of state berths in the Union Council of Ministers.