East no match for West | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

East no match for West

india Updated: Mar 19, 2009 00:20 IST
Atreyo Mukhopadhyay
Atreyo Mukhopadhyay
Hindustan Times
East no match for West

East Zone won't mind that the Deodhar Trophy final couldn't be beamed live due to a technical snag. They wouldn't have liked the world to watch the hiding they got, and would regret that it happened in front of selectors.

The 218-run win capped a domineering season for West, who also won the Duleep Trophy to go with Mumbai's Ranji Trophy triumph. Wasim Jaffer's glorious yet lucky hundred, his stand with Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja and Abhishek Nayar's mass destruction and East's capitulation with the bat were the highlights of the anti-climax.

East's decision to drop left-arm spinner Tushar Saha and bring in an extra batsman was put to test straightaway when Jaffer won the toss. The opening bowlers started well, off-spinner Rakesh Mohanty, too, wasn't expensive, but the arrival of part-timers saw East losing the plot completely.

West were not comfortable at 85 for three in the 17th over when Rakesh Solanki sacrificed his wicket for Jaffer. The skipper had just survived a simple caught-and-bowled chance to Dhiraj Goswami on 49. Jaffer was however brilliant before and after these errors, and his 158-run stand with Pujara turned out to be "match-winning", as he said later.

Pujara, too, looked determined to play a long innings. He paced his stay sensibly and ran well to prove that conventional methods still work in 50-over games.

Traditional principles were hit over the rope with amazing regularity by Jadeja. Nayar too was improvising and manufacturing ways of butchering the listless bowling. The heavy shelling resulted in an unbeaten partnership of 99 off 47 balls, the last 10 overs producing 120. The match was all but over as a contest at the half-time.

East looked battered when it was their turn to bat. They were dispirited and there was not even a resemblance of resistance. Chasing the highest total in the history of the tournament, they crashed to another dubious record - of the heaviest defeat batting second.


West Zone: A. Rahane b Dinda 2; P. Patel c Saha b Bose 12; W. Jaffer c Goswami b Bose 116; R. Solanki run out 17; C. Pujara c M. Tiwary b Sharma 94; R. Jadeja not out 61; A. Nayar not out 54. Extras (nb 1, w 5) 6. Total (5 wkts, 50 ovs) 362; FoW: 1-5, 2-40, 3-85, 4-243, 5-263. Bowling: Bose 10-0-54-2, Dinda 10-0-81-1, Goswami 9-0-68-0, Mohanty 10-0-54-0, M. Tiwary 6-0-68-0, Sharma 5-0-37-1.

East Zone: W. Saha b Odedra 2; N. Behera lbw Odedra 12; H. Das b Trivedi 0; I. Jaggi b Trivedi 8; M. Tiwary run out 24; S. Tiwary run out 2; D. Sharma lbw Nayar 7; R. Mohanty lbw Nayar 26; D. Goswami not out 40; A. Dinda b Jadeja 16; R. Bose c Patel b Jadeja 0. Extras (b 4, lb 1, w 2) 7. Total (all out, 39.4 ovs) 144. FoW: 1-3, 2-11, 3-15, 4-47, 5-47, 6-49, 7-78, 8-106, 9-144. Bowling: Trivedi 8-2-27-2, Odedra 10-0-32-2; Abdulla 10-1-29-0, Nayar 6-0-30-2, Jadeja 3.4-0-16-2, Makwana 2-0-5-0.