Farhat not guilty of violating rules | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 08, 2016-Thursday
-°C
New Delhi
  • Humidity
    -
  • Wind
    -

Farhat not guilty of violating rules

india Updated: Jan 22, 2007 15:35 IST
Highlight Story

Pakistani opener Imran Farhat has been found not guilty of breaching the spirit of the game when he claimed a catch which television replays showed had bounced before coming into his hands.

The incident occurred on the first day of the second Test against South Africa in Port Elizabeth when Farhat claimed a catch against Ashwell Prince.

The incident was referred to third umpire Rudi Koertzen because on-field officials Billy Doctrove and Peter Parker were unsure whether the batsman had played the ball into the ground before it reached the fielder.

When Koertzen studied television replays of the incident he noticed the ball had not carried to Farhat, and when all the umpires, including fourth official Brian Jerling, had the chance to view the footage at close of play, it was decided that a charge should be laid.

The player was charged with a a Level 2 offence under clause C 1 of International Cricket Council's code of conduct which states: "Players and/or Team Officials shall at all times conduct play within the spirit of the game as well as within the Laws of Cricket..."

The hearing took place after the second day's play on Saturday and after considering the evidence, match referee Chris Broad decided Farhat had no intention to cheat.

"One of the key aspects in favour of the fielder in this instance was that no one questioned the validity of the catch at the time," Broad said.

tags