Fathers plan perfect son rise | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2016-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Fathers plan perfect son rise

india Updated: Jul 16, 2006 01:18 IST
Highlight Story

Congress, BJP leaders get BSP tickets for wards

LIKE FATHER like son, but not in this case. It’s a story of fathers wanting to propel their sons into the political orbit but from a different launch pad.

Congress leaders Ammar Rizvi, KN Singh, BJP MLC Surendra Nath Awasthi and former MLA Mahendra Singh might not have much in common but the love for their sons is the unifying trait of these party loyalists.

Displaying pragmatism, these old political hands have planned a perfect son rise and got their prized ones bluechip tickets in the political market. They quietly hobnobbed with BSP supremo Mayawati and got Vidhan Sabha tickets for their sons.

It surprised many when Mayawati named Misam Rizvi son of Ammar Rizvi, Vinod Singh son of KN Singh, Ashutosh Awasthi son of Surendra Nath Awasthi and Praveen son of former MLA Mahendra Singh among the 300 candidates for the forthcoming Vidhan Sabha polls.

With the mass base of both the Congress and the BJP shrinking, the fathers opted got a winning horse for their sons. While the fathers move into the sunset of their political career, they convinced Mayawati and ensured safe seats for their sons.

While Ashutosh Awasthi will contest from Haidergarh, Vinod Singh from Chanda, Misam Rizvi has been given Mehmoodabad and Praveen Jhunsi.

BSP leaders said several rival politicians were still hobnobbing with the BSP to get a ticket for their wards. “There will be more surprise in store when ‘behenji’ will release the next list of party candidates,” they promised.

Again there are some who are trying to get BSP tickets for their wives and relatives. BSP MP Brajesh Pathak ensured that his brother-in-law Arvind Tripathi got ticket from the Lucknow Cantonment seat. Dharmi Rawat, wife of MP Kamla Rawat, got ticket from the Siddhaur reserved seat.

Other than wards of politicians, Mayawati has also kept the door open for rebels in her rival ranks. To send the message that rebels would be rewarded aptly, she handed tickets to rival rebels like Mahesh Trivedi, Fateh Bahadur Singh, Pahgu Chauhan, Chaudhary Laxmi Narayan, Omvati, Badshah Singh, Chaudhary Ram Prasad, Ajay Kumar Maurya and Ratan Lal Ahirwar.

The plan has worked with more rebels knocking at Maya’s door. Those who cross-voted in favour of the BSP candidate in the Rajya Sabha election will be accommodated in the next list.