Fight of debutants in South Chennai LS constituency | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 27, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Fight of debutants in South Chennai LS constituency

india Updated: May 09, 2009 10:14 IST

It is a fight of the debutants this time in the 'elite' South Chennai Lok Sabha constituency which prides itself for electing some illustrious personalities such as former President R Venkatraman, T T Krishmachari, DMK founder C N Annadurai, actress Vyjayanthimala Bali and DMK's Murasoli Maran to Parliament.

A predominant DMK bastion, South Chennai with a voter base of 11.5 lakh will see DMK's long-serving Alandur Chairman RS Barathy, BJP state unit president L Ganesan and AIADMK's realtor 'Chitlapakkam' S Rajendran test their strength.

In 2004, sitting MP and Union Shipping Minister TR Baalu, the party's candidate for the nearby Sriperumbudur seat, trounced his AIADMK rival and incumbent Triplicane MLA Badar Saeed by a margin of around 2.2 lakh votes, stamping the DMK's supremacy in the constituency.

However, of the six Assembly constituencies presently under the Lok Sabha seat-- Thyagaraya Nagar, Saidapet, Triplicane, Mylapore, Tambaram and Alandur-- DMK represents only the last two, with its archrival AIADMK making inroads into these DMK strongholds in the 2006 Assembly elections.

Having ceded a large chunk of geographical area to Sriperumbudur post delimitation including Tambaram and Alandur, parts of South Chennai's skyline is dotted with some of the big IT firms in the IT Corridor.

Brahmin votes could well make a difference with the community-dominated new Assembly seats--Velachery, and Sholinganallur-- coming under the constituency.