First session of Andhra assembly begins | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

First session of Andhra assembly begins

india Updated: Jun 19, 2014 14:11 IST
Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

The first session of the new Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly began at 11:52AM in Hyderabad on Thursday.

Chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu took oath first as member of the Legislative Assembly, followed by his Cabinet colleagues.

Pro-tem speaker Pativada Narayanaswamy Naidu administered the oath to newly-elected legislators.

Earlier, Narayanaswamy was sworn-in by governor E S L Narasimhan as pro-tem speaker.

On thursday, 173 MLAs are expected to take oath in the House. There are two vacancies in the 175-member House.

The House will elect the speaker and deputy speaker on Friday.

The Governor will address the joint sitting of the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly.

The House will take up debate on motion of thanks to the Governor's address on June 23 and 24.