For 26/11 blood donation, only 16 of 789 MPs turn up | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

For 26/11 blood donation, only 16 of 789 MPs turn up

india Updated: Nov 26, 2009 23:58 IST
Aurangzeb Naqshbandi
Aurangzeb Naqshbandi
Hindustan Times
Mumbai terror attacks

They mourned and passed a resolution but only 16 MPs turned up at a blood donation camp at Parliament to commemorate the first anniversary of the Mumbai terror attacks.

In the end, only nine MPs could donate. Seven others were sent back on medical grounds.

Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar inaugurated the blood donation camp that was organised for members of Parliament on Thursday to mark the first anniversary of 26/11 Mumbai terror attacks.

The Lok Sabha has 544 members and the Rajya Sabha 245.

In comparison, the Parliament staff was more forthcoming as 32 officials donated blood though the camp was not meant for them.

The MPs who donated blood are Mahabal Mishra, Dr Gaddam Vivekanand, Dr Vinay Kumar Pandey, Sandeep Dikshit, Ninong Ering, P Balram and Anantha Venkatarami Reddy (all Congress) Devji Mansingram Patel (BJP) and Kaushalendra Kumar (JD-U).

“It was a noble cause. I got a chance to serve the people,” said Erring, the Lok Sabha member from Arunachal Pradesh.

Those turned back were Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs V. Narayanswamy, National Women’s Commission chairperson Girija Vyas, Ponnam Prabhakar and Rajaiah Siricilla (all Congress), Sardar Tarlochan Singh (Independent — Rajya Sabha), Davidson J Helen (DMK) and Konakalla Narayana Rao (TDP).

“There was some medical problem so the doctors did not give me permission to donate blood. I missed the opportunity. Never mind, there will be another time,” said Prabhakar, Lok Sabha member from Andhra Pradesh.

Tata Tea’s Anthem of apathy
Partnered feature