Force India driver Fisichella finishes second at Belgian GP | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 04, 2016-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Force India driver Fisichella finishes second at Belgian GP

india Updated: Aug 31, 2009 02:50 IST

Highlight Story

After 29 false starts, the Vijay Mallya-owned Force India finally nixed the hoodoo and scored their maiden Formula One points with Giancarlo Fisichella finishing second in the Belgian Grand Prix on Sunday.

The 36-year-old Italian driver, rumoured to have one foot in Ferrari, shunned extravagance to run a flawless race and trailed Kimi Raikkonen's Ferrari, which had snatched the lead using the Kinetic Energy Recovery System, all the way for a podium finish and earn eight valuable points.

Results from the Belgian Formula One Grand Prix

1. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari 1hr 23min 50.995sec
2. Giancarlo Fisichella (ITA) Force India) at 0.939s
3. Sebastian Vettel (GER) Red Bull 3.875
4. Robert Kubica (POL) BMW Sauber 9.966
5. Nick Heidfeld (GER) BMW Sauber 11.276
6. Heikki Kovalainen (FIN) McLaren 32.763
7. Rubens Barrichello (BRA) Brawn 35.461
8. Nico Rosberg (GER) Williams 36.208
9. Mark Webber (AUS) Red Bull 36.959
10. Timo Glock (GER) Toyota 41.490
11. Adrian Sutil (GER) Force India 42.636
12. Sebastien Buemi (SUI) Toro Rosso 46.106
13. Kazuki Nakajima (JPN) Williams 54.241
14. Luca Badoer (ITA) Ferrari 1:42.177

The Italian finished less than a second behind Raikkonen.

Fisichella's Force India teammate Adrian Sutil had a rather rollercoaster outing with the German eventually finishing 11th.

With this, Fisichella renewed his tryst with Spa, which has traditionally been benign to him.
It was at the same track in 1997 that Fisichella had finished second in a Jordan car.

For a car without the KERS boost, Fisichella displayed amazing racecraft in a race marked and marred by opening lap pile-up, early safety car and pit-stop fumbles.

The opening lap scramble cost defending champion Lewis Hamilton and current drivers' title leader Jenson Button their races as both spun off.

The turn five mishap also ended the race for Renault rookie Romain Grosjean and Torro Rosso's Jaime Alguersuari.