Foreign trip fruitful: CM | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Foreign trip fruitful: CM

india Updated: Dec 15, 2006 14:53 IST

CHIEF MINISTER Shivraj Singh Chouhan said here on Thursday night that his visit to Singapore and Malaysia would accelerate the pace of development in the state.

He was talking to journalists at the State hanger of Raja Bhoj Airport after his return from his first-ever foreign trip as Chief Minister.

He said that the visit aimed at projecting Madhya Pradesh as a promising destination for investors, finding industrial potential for industrialists in the State and inviting investment from abroad.

He said all the above-mentioned three objectives were achieved during the visit. The industrialists abroad evinced a keen interest in the state, he said. Three MoUs were signed in Singapore and two in Malaysia. The CM held talks with the former Prime Minster of Singapore on infrastructure, rural market, container manufacture and hotel industry.  

He said on January 16 and 17 an investors’ meet would be organised at Khajuraho, which would prepare the ground for Destination MP show in October.

Earlier, the CM who landed here at around 10 pm, nearly four and a half hours behind schedule, was accorded a warm reception by his Cabinet colleagues, MLAs and the BJP workers. Several MLAs who are considered to be in the race for Cabinet ministerial berths were also present.

The Chief Minister was accompanied by his wife Sadhna Singh and sons and officials. Slogans like ‘Shivraj Bhaiya tum raaj karo, hum tumhare saath hain’ and ‘Madhya Pradesh ki shaan hai, Shivraj Singh Chouhan hain’ raised by BJP workers filled the air.

Sadhna Singh said what appealed to her most during their foreign visit was their (foreigners’) sense of cleanliness and time management.  In a lighter vein she asked a Mahila Morcha worker, “Main gori lag rahi hoon na (Am I not looking fair?)

Those present on the occasion included Rustam Singh, Vijay Shah, Chaudhary Chandrabhan Singh, Narottam Mishra, Jagdish Devada, Nagendra Singh, Antar Singh Arya, Ramakant Tiwari, all ministers, Lal Singh Arya, Bhagwant Singh, Gyan Singh, Kamalapat Arya, Gurucharan Singh, Umashankar Gupta, NP Kabirpanthi, all MLAs, district BJP president Alok Sanjar, Surendra Nath Singh, Alok Sharma, Rameshwar Sharma, Vishwas Sarang and others.