Four RS members from Madhya Pradesh yet to adopt villages under SAGY | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Four RS members from Madhya Pradesh yet to adopt villages under SAGY

india Updated: Nov 25, 2014 16:29 IST
Rahul Noronha
Rahul Noronha
Hindustan Times
Rajya Sabha

Four out of the 11 Rajya Sabha MPs from Madhya Pradesh are yet to identify a village for the government of India's (GoI) Saansad Adarsh Gram Scheme (SAGY) or MPs model village scheme.

As per guidelines of the department of rural development, GoI, MPs were asked to identify a village within a month of announcement of the scheme. The scheme was announced on October 11 by the Prime Minister.

While all the 29 Lok Sabha MPs from Madhya Pradesh have identified the villages they wish to develop under the model village scheme, as on November 19, 4 of the 11 Rajya Sabha MPs are yet to identify the beneficiary villages, as per details sourced from the state rural development department. Those who have not identified the beneficiary village include the Congress' Satyavrat Chaturvedi, Digvijaya Singh and Vijay Laxmi Sadho and the BJP's Chandan Mitra. Some MPs have not identified beneficary villages because they are in disagreement with the scheme.

"I am yet to decide on the village to be developed because there are certain issues with the scheme. Why should one village get the benefit of development and why should other villagers be left out? I was told by the state rural development department that I would have to develop the village from MPLAD funds. I have asked the department if they give me additional funds for one village I can consider adopting it. However, I have not taken a final decision on the matter and will discuss it with senior leaders of the party and decide," said Vijay Laxmi Sadho, one of the RS MPs that has not yet adopted a village.

As per guidelines of the union government's rural development department, broad time lines for the implementation of the scheme have been fixed for MPs. As per the timeline, the identification of the village should be completed within a month of the launch of the scheme. The development works in the village should be completed by 2016 after which 2 more model villages are to be developed by March 2019. There after 5 more model villages, one per year are to be developed till 2024.

"I have asked fellow MPs to recommend villages to me in MP as I am not very familiar with the state. I am awaiting recommendations and I plan to identify all 4 villages to be developed in one go. In fact I would have identified the villages by the end of the parliament session," said BJP RS MP Chandan Mitra. While Lok Sabha MPs have been asked to select and identify a village within their constituency, Rajya Sabha MPs can choose a village from a district within the state from where they are elected.

Tata Tea’s Anthem of apathy
Partnered feature