Geekani-led Hurriyat boycotts Pak Premier | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 30, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Geekani-led Hurriyat boycotts Pak Premier

india Updated: Apr 04, 2007 00:18 IST

The hard-line faction of separatist All Parties Hurriyat Conference (led by Syed Ali Geelani) has boycotted the meeting with Pakistan Prime Minister Shoukat Aziz. Ghulam Nabbi Sumjhi, the acting chairman of the amalgam, said that Pak premiers meeting was boycotted in protest against Pakistan's changed policy on Kashmir issue.

Pakistan Prime Minister Shoukat Aziz, who is presently in New Delhi to attend 14th conference of SAARC nations, has invited leaders of both factions of Hurriyat Conference besides Democratic Freedom Party chief Shabir Ahmad Shah for meeting on April 4. Shabir Shah today left for the national to meet the Pak premier. Leaders of moderate faction of the Hurriyat Conference headed by Nirwaiz Ummer Farooq are also scheduled to meet Aziz on Wednesday.

"But we are not meeting the Pak Premier', Sumjhi said. He alleged that Pakistan has reversed from its historical position on Kashmir and was causing damage to the cause of Kashmir people. "We will not meet Pak prime minister in protest against his country's Kashmir policy", he said adding, "Pakistan's changed position has caused a great damage to our cause".

Sumhji, who is leading the amalgam in absence of Syed Ali Geelani (Geelani who underwent surgery in his cancer-effected kidney, is recuperating in a Mumbai hospital) reiterated that right of self-determination and United Nations' Resolutions were the only solution to the issue of Kashmir. "The people of Kashmir will not accept any other solution", he claimed.

Shabir Ahmad Shah, who is meeting Aziz on Wednesday, said that he would take up the issue of "unending human rights violations committed by Indian security forces on the people of Kashmir with the Pak premier". Shah said that he would also give his suggestion to Shoukat Azizi to bring together the "pro freedom leadership of Kashmir".