Gogoi among 87 candidates to file nominations | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Gogoi among 87 candidates to file nominations

india Updated: Mar 16, 2011 20:17 IST

Eighty-seven candidates today filed their nominations, including Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi, for 62 Assembly constituencies in Assam which go to polls in the first phase on April 4.

Gogoi filed his nomination from Titabor Assembly constituency in Jorhat district. Other prominent candidates to file their papers include Deputy Speaker Pranati Phukan from Naharkatia, Water Resources Minister Nurjamal Sarkar from Bishwanath, Handloom and Law Minister Pranab Gogoi from Sivasagar, Public Health and Engineering Minister Dinesh Prasad Goala from Lakhipur and PWD Minister Ajanta Neog from Golaghat.

Altogether 106 candidates have filed their nominations so far since notification was issued on March 10. The last date of filing of nominations is tomorrow, Scrutiny would be done the next day while the deadline for withdrawal is March 21. The constituencies going to polls in the first phase include 15 in the Barak Valley, five in the two hill districts of Karbi Anglong and North Cachar Hills, eight in Sonitpur and the remaining 34 in the upper Assam districts of Dhemaji, Golaghat, Sivasagar, Dibrugarh, Tinsukia, Lakhimpur and Jorhat.