Social networking website Google+ has announced a new rule that requires users to use their real names, otherwise their profile would be deleted.
Saurabh Sharma, product manager of the social networking team, announced the new rule in a video shared on YouTube and on Google+, which tells that if a person is not using his/her real name, the profile will be removed after four days given to clean up the act.
The company said it tried to make connecting with people on the web more like connecting with people in the real world, so those signing up for the service are need to use the name they go by in the real world, the Daily Mail reports.
“If we find that your profile name does not adhere to our policy, we’ll give you a 4-day grace period to fix your profile name before we take further action,” the newspaper quoted Sharma, as saying.
“Taking action means your account is closed although you will be allowed to ''take all your content with you, even after your profile is suspended. Visit Google Takeout for more details,” he added.
The new regulations were billed as an ‘update to how the company handles potential violations of its common name policy.’