Govind Narayan memorial cricket tourney from Dec 24 | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Govind Narayan memorial cricket tourney from Dec 24

india Updated: Dec 10, 2006 18:37 IST

DR Govind Narayan Singh Memorial Inter-School Cricket Tournament will be organised at Old Campion Grounds from December 24. Earlier it was to be organsied from December 16.

The organizing committee visited the Old Campion Grounds on Saturday to inspect the preparations. According to Dhruv Narayan Singh, son of the late Govind Narayan Singh, the tournament has been postponed due to the non-availability of schools in mid of December. “The schools have either annual functions or annual sports in this month.

After learning this we have deiced to postpone the date,” said Dhruv Narayan Singh who is also the president of Bhopal Divisional Cricket Association (BDCA).

He said the objective of the tournament is to provide opportunity to the school-level players to demonstrate their talent. According to organsing secretary Aruneshwar Singhdeo, all efforts are made to make the tournament best in the City. We are all prepared to organising long-awaited demand high-standard cricket tournament for the school teams.

This tournament is to provide them the opportunity to demonstrate their talent,” said Singhdeo BDCA vice-president.  The organising committee expects participation of leading schools of the City. The committee has restricted entries to 32 teams. Every day, two matches will be played.

The semifinal and final matches will be of 30 and 40 overs respectively. All the matches will be played on the knockout basis with ODIs rules.

Singh said tournament would be organised every year. “Like other open tournaments, this will also be organised annually and with the same standards,” said Singh.

Sports department Joint director Dr Vinod Pradhan, Organising committee president Vijesh Lunawat, Sushil Singh Thakur, Hamidullah Khan ‘Mamu’, Rajat Mohan Verma, Uttam Thakur, Rajiv Saxena, Sushil Singh Thakur, JP Tyagi, Suresh Chenani, and others accompanied Dhruv Narayan Singh.