Govt shoots off eviction notices | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Govt shoots off eviction notices

india Updated: Oct 23, 2006 14:43 IST

THE STATE government has started issuing notices to politicians, journalists, social organisations and IAS officers occupying government houses beyond the period stipulated by the Supreme Court.

According to an apex court directive to the State, politicians and non-government persons can occupy the houses for a maximum of two years and journalists for three years.

Notices are likely to be served on 154 journalists, 45 social and political organisations, and 23 social workers, besides half a dozen IAS officers, sources said.

When contacted, Principal Secretary, Home, Satyaprakash confirmed issuing of the notices. Refusing to disclose the names served with notices, he said the government has no option but to follow the apex court directive.

The court has directed the government to free government quarters from unauthorised possession latest by October 31. This exercise is likely to hit the journalists hard. Some of them are retaining government quarters for 30 to 40 years.

Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan has assured the journalists that the government will find some way out. It was suggested to the Chief Minister that the journalists concerned should approach the apex court with sufficient reason to allow them to retain the quarters for some time.

As the SC has directed the government to submit an action-taken report on unauthorised occupation by October 31, senior officials prepared a detailed list of squatters, date of allotment of houses, period of allotment and action taken against those overstaying the houses.

Names of many politicians, allotted government quarters either as journalists or social workers, figure in the list. Senior BJP leaders and two spokespersons of the state Congress are enjoying government accommodation.

Politicians who are going to get notices include Kailash Sarang, Meghraj Jain, Brijmohan Shrivastava, Deepchand Yadav, Mahavir Prasad Vashistha, Surendra Singh Thakur, P C Sharma, Raghu Thakur and Gauri Singh Yadav.

Notices will be served on some district collectors and divisional commissioners, and some IAS officers on deputation outside the state. They have been transferred out of the capital, but they still retain official accommodation.

Offices of parties — including the Samajwadi Janata Party; Loktantrik Samajwadi Party; Rahtriya Janata Dal; Bahujan Samaj Party; Janata Party and the Gondwana Gantrantra Party  – are facing eviction.

Social organisations like the All-India Momin Congress, Ekta Parishad, Samadhan Trust, Mahatma Gandhi Shikshan and Shod Sansthan, Blind Relief Association, Yoga Anusandhan Parishad, MP Harijan Sewak Sangh and so on are likely to be affected by the SC order.

Similar is the case with the offices of some employees’ associations. They include the Madhya Pradesh IAS Association, president, All-India Services, MP Karmachari Congress, MP Rajya Karmachari Sangh, MP Shikshak Sangh, AJJAX and the MP Gazetted Officers Association.