Gujarat: Modi takes oath as CM for fourth time | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 23, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Gujarat: Modi takes oath as CM for fourth time

india Updated: Dec 26, 2012 14:45 IST
Mahesh Langa
narendra modi

In a grand function organised at Sardar Patel Stadium in Ahmedabad, Narendra Modi on Wednesday took oath as Gujarat's chief minister for the fourth time after leading the BJP to a sweeping win in assembly elections.

Governor Kamla Beniwal administered the oath of office and secrecy to the Bharatiya Janata Party leader, who has ruled Gujarat since 2001, at the Sardar Patel Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Modi became the second chief minister after Madhavsinh Solanki to take oath as gujarat CM for the fourth time.

Modi became the chief minister of Gujarat for the first time in October 2001 after Keshubhai Patel was unceremoniously removed by the BJP which feared losing ground in important state like Gujarat.

Nitin Patel, Anadiben Patel, Saurabh Patel and Raman Vora and other leaders were sworn in too.

Besides top BJP leaders and CMs of BJP ruled states, Tamil Nadu CM J Jayalalithaa, Punjab CM Prakash Singh Badal, former CM of Haryana Om Prakash Chautala, Raj and Uddhav Thackrey, many film personalities and industry honchos like Subrata Roy of Sahara group were present in the function.

Apart from Thackrey brothers, another prominent leader present from Maharashtra was Ramdas Athvale.

Bihar chief minister and bête noir of Gujarat CM, Nitish Kumar skipped the function while according to a close confidante of Modi, despite several efforts Orissa chief minister Naveen Patnaik and NCP leaders did not attend the function.

More than 200 priests and saints were also present on the occasion to bless the newly elected chief minister and his team.

After arriving at the venue, Modi clad in half sleeved kurta and shawl greeted all priests sitting on a separate stage erected for them.

More than 30,000 people from across the state attended the oath taking ceremony.

The swearing in function was also live telecast at several public places in giant TV screens set up by the authorities.

In the recently held assembly polls, the ruling BJP under the leadership of Modi, won 115 out of the 182 seats in the state. This is the fifth victory of the saffron party in Gujarat since 1995 and third under Modi since December 2002.