Harish’s knock guides Collage to title | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Harish’s knock guides Collage to title

india Updated: Jul 19, 2008 18:54 IST
Heena Zuni Pandit

COLLAGE GROUP beat Mohan Meakins (MM) by 51 runs to lift the DDCA Hot-Weather title at the Ferozeshah Kotla, here on Sunday.

Electing to bat, Collage openers Amardeep Sonkar and Harish Kumar started off impressively. The right hand- left hand combination worked well for Collage as the duo put on 90 off 116 balls before southpaw Sonkar got run out. He scored a fine 30 off 35 balls punctuating his innings with three boundaries.

One down batsman Ashish Sharma carried on the good work and scored a fine 50 off 54 balls. But, like his earlier innings in the tournament, this time too he got out soon reaching his half-century; adjudged lbw off M.M. captain Rajinder Madan.

However, his second-wicket stand of 110 runs with Harish Kumar finally proved instrumental in the team's victory. But the icing on the cake was man-of-the-match Kumar's 60 (off 81 balls).

The 40-year-old wicketkeeper's 'age-defying' knock which was decorated with five fours and two sixes helped Collage put on 240 for 7 in their stipulated 40 overs. Later, on field Kumar was involved in two superlative stumping chances.

But, while the M.M. bowlers were getting clobbered, Jitender Singh did show some spark. He returned with figures of 2 for 38 - the best during the innings.

In reply, M.M. batsmen were clearly out of ideas and the asking rate of 6.02 proved rather hard for them to match and as a result the team succumbed to 189 all out in 38.1 overs.

The only bright spot in their batting was opener Rahul Prasad's 54 off 67 balls. After his dismissal their batsmen just about made up the numbers.

Left arm spinners Vijay Arya (3 for 38) and Rohit Mehra (2 for 28) were the pick of the Collage bowling department.

Brief Scores:

Collage Group 240 for 7 in 40 overs (H. Kumar 60, A. Sharma 50, S. Bamal 40, A. Sonkar 30; J. Singh 2-38) beat Mohan Meakins 189 all out in 38.1 overs (R. Prasad 54, C. Singh 30; V. Arya 3-38, R. Mehra 2-28).