HC stay orders on Haryana teachers' recruitment result to continue till Aug 5 | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 21, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

HC stay orders on Haryana teachers' recruitment result to continue till Aug 5

india Updated: Jul 15, 2013 20:16 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

The Punjab and Haryana high court's stay orders on the declaration of teachers' recruitment results by the Haryana School Teachers Selection Board (HSTSB) will continue till August 5.

However, the high court has asked the Haryana government to explain if the state had created the HSTSB because the Haryana Public Service Commission (HPSC) was overburdened, then what was the need to reduce the strength of the HPSC members from 13 to seven?

During the resumed hearing of the case on Monday, it was revealed that even of the seven posts of HPSC members, including the chairman, only two members, including the chairman, were holding the office at present.

Representing the state government, advocate general Hawa Singh Hooda informed the division bench headed by chief justice Sanjay Kishan Kaul that the HSTSB was constituted mainly for recruitment of teachers. Since there was a huge shortage of teachers in the state, the advocate general requested the court to vacate the stay on the declaration of results of the recruitment examination.

However, the petitioner's counsel informed the court that the HSTSB was constituted in 2011, but since 2008 there were never more than four members in the HPSC, whereas the state government was saying that the HPSC was overburdened.

The development took place during the resumed hearing of a public interest litigation filed by Vijay Bansal, president of Panchkula-based NGO Shivalik Vikas Manch. The petitioner had sought quashing of the HSTSB Act, saying it was against the Constitution. It was also submitted that the HPSC should make all recruitments, which were now being made by the HSTSB.

The petitioner had also challenged the appointments of the chairman and members of the Board, alleging favouritism. Members of the board are Brig Nand Lal Poonia (retd) (chairman), Gian Chand Sahota, Jagdish Prasad, Serena Mahajan and Tribhuwan Prakash Bose.The case will come up for hearing on August 5.