HT journos sweep sports awards | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 21, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

HT journos sweep sports awards

india Updated: Aug 11, 2006 13:45 IST

HT MEDIA swept the honours at the Sports Journalists’ Federation of India's ‘TATA Indian Sports Journalism Awards 2006’ in Mumbai on Thursday, picking 10 of the 30 awards on offer.

Dhiman Sarkar (Sports Editor, HT Kolkata) and senior reporter Shailesh Chaturvedi (Dainik Hindustan, New Delhi) got three awards each.

Sarkar took home the prestigious Indian Sportswriter of the Year (newspaper) honour in addition to being the best in "football writing and interviewing". Chaturvedi swept the Hindi category, winning the Indian Sportswriter of the Year, Best Feature Writer and Best News Story awards.

Akshay Sawai (Sports Editor, HT Mumbai) was named Tennis Writer of the Year while Kadambari Murali (Sports Editor, HT Delhi) won the Best News Story award. HT Mumbai also won the Best Headline prize. HT Mumbai's Ritesh Uttamchandani grabbed the Best Action Picture (off the field) award.

The English language entries were judged by V.K. Karthika of Penguin Books, Mukul Kesavan of Jamia Millia Islamia and Joy Bhattacharya of National Geographic.