India wins toss, bowls vs. Sri Lanka in ODI final | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 04, 2016-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

India wins toss, bowls vs. Sri Lanka in ODI final

india Updated: Jul 11, 2013 19:02 IST

Highlight Story

Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss on Thursday and chose to bowl first against Sri Lanka in the final of the Tri-nation ODI series to be held in West Indies.

Dhoni returned to the team after missing the past two matches due to a right hamstring injury.

The wicketkeeper-batsman was included at the expense of Murali Vijay, while India made one other change with Vinay Kumar coming in for fellow seamer Umesh Yadav.

Sri Lanka also made two changes to its side that lost its last preliminary match to India two days ago.

All-rounders Jeevan Mendis and Dilhara Lokuhettige are omitted, with left-handed batsman Kusal Perera and fast bowler Suranga Lakmal taking their places.

The teams:


Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Dinesh Karthik, Suresh Raina, M.S. Dhoni (captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Vinay Kumar, Ishant Sharma.

Sri Lanka:

Upul Tharanga, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews (captain), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Perera, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Shaminda Eranga, Lasith Malinga.


Nigel Llong, England, and Peter Nero, Trinidad and Tobago. Third umpire: Joel Wilson, Trinidad and Tobago. Match referee: David Boon, Australia.