INTEPENDENTS SPOIL PARTY | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind


india Updated: Nov 12, 2006 00:35 IST

Post-poll, all political parties are vying with each other to claim that they are the real winners, but the ground reality tells a different story. Rajesh Kumar Singh dissects and analyses the results to show that the Independents have ‘run over’ mainstream political parties in the recently concluded election .

THE RESULTS of three-tier urban local bodies poll are out. All the political parties are busy analyzing the results and projecting that they emerged victorious in the poll.

BJP leaders claimed that the results not only reflected the party’s continuous grip over urban voters but also showed that their clout in the cities had increased.

Samajwadi Party said that though they lost on 11 mayoral seats, but their candidate fared well in the nagar palika parishad and nagar panchayats. “Voters in the towns and semi-urban areas have supported the SP,” they said.

The Congress leadership feels that the results indicated the shift of Muslim and Dalit voters from the SP and the BSP towards the Congress. “While rival political parties struggled to maintain hold in their bastions, Congress performance has bettered both in the cities and towns,” they added.

Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati said it was due to the tactical support of her party that the Congress and the BJP performed well in the civic polls. Rather than the victory of rival political parties it was the victory of the BSP as it managed to check its archrival SP from winning the poll, she claimed.

But the major political parties have forgot to read between the lines. In between their tally of seats is the score made by the Independent candidates. Except for the mayoral poll, where the BJP has gained due to negative votes and shift among Muslim voters, in all other seats including nagar palika parishad, nagar panchayats and nagar nigam corporators the voters have in general rejected main political parties. They have expressed faith in Independent candidates.

Reacting to the trend, State Election Commissioner Aparmita Prasad Singh it was a warning signal for major political parties. The parties have failed to meet the aspiration of the people at the State-level and voters wanted to give the key of local bodies to Independent candidates.

Out of the 12 mayoral seats, the BJP bagged eight (Meerut, Aligarh, Agra, Ghaziabad, Gorakhpur, Kanpur, Varanasi and Lucknow), while the Congress secured victory on three (Allahabad, Jhansi and Bareilly). The Samajwadi Party managed to bag the Moradabad seat with a slender margin.

Results of the nagar palika parishad and nagar panchayat chairman seat are an eye opener for political parties. Out of the 184 nagar palika parishad chairman seats the result of 179 seats was available with the State Election Commission (SEC).

Independents have secured victory on 68 seats, the BJP bagged 39, SP captured 54, Congress 16 and the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) 2.

The scenario is no different in case of the nagar panchayat chairman seat. Out of the 412 chairman seats, results of 395 seats were available with the SEC. 

Independents walked off with the lion share of 213 seats, the SP bagged 100 seats, BJP 55, Congress 25, CPI (M) 1 and the RJD secured victory on one seat.

All the major political parties received major jolt in the election to the nagar palika parishad and nagar panchayat member seats. Out of the 4831 seats the SEC declared the result of 4733 seats. Independents emerged frontrunner with 3142 seats. Samajwadi Party got 677, BJP 615, Congress 221, RLD 58, while other political parties failed to achieve double figure.

In the nagar panchayat poll, the Independents secured victory on 3529 seats out of the total 4962 seats, the Samajwadi Party got 687 seats, BJP 340, Congress 220 and RLD 64 seats.

In the nagar nigam poll, the BJP was able give a tough fight to the Independents on the corporators seat. Out of the 909 corporators seats in the 12 nagar nigams, the results of 873 seats were available with SEC. While 284 BJP corporators secured victory, the Independents came a close second with 234 seats.

Along with securing victory on a large number of seats, the Independents shocked the heavyweights of various political parties in their citadel.

Samajwadi Party leader suffered major embarrassment in their stronghold Kannauj, Barabanki and Deoria. The Independents walked away with the three nagar palika parishad chairman seat in Kannauj. The result is a warning for Chief Minister’s son and MP Akhilesh Yadav. Barabanki the base of SP strongman Beni Prasad Verma was also ‘run over’ by the Independents. Independent candidates captured both the nagar palika parishad chairman seats and majority of the nagar panchayat chairman posts.

SP chief nephew Dharmendra Yadav was humiliated by Independents in Mainpuri nagar panchayat election. Independent candidates bagged 4 nagar panchayat chairman posts. Etah another strong base of SP too fell to the Independents.

Out of the 12 nagar panchayat chairman posts, Independents bagged 5.

Congress faced embarrassment in Amethi, which is represented by Rahul Gandhi in the Lok Sabha, Independents bagged all the four nagar panchayat chairman seats.

Former UPCC president Jagdambika Prasad was humiliated in his stronghold Basti. An Independent candidate defeated his wife Snehlata Pal, who fought the nagar palika parishad chairman election.

The scene was no different in Deoria, which is another SP stronghold. National general secretary of the SP Mohan Singh represents this seat in Lok Sabha. Here too Independent candidates walked away with three nagar palika parishad seats.

Social Welfare Minister Awadesh Prasad faced embarrassment in his home turf Faizabad as Independent candidate secured victory on the Bhadarsha nagar panchayat seat. Stamp and Registration Minister Hari Shankar Tewari too faced humiliation in his stronghold as an Independent candidate grabbed the Barhalganj nagar panchayat seat.

Samajwadi Party lost the nagar palika parishad and nagar panchayat chairman seats to Independents in Azamagarh, which is the home district of Panchayati Raj Minister Balaram Yadav. In Ballia, the home district of Revenue Minister Ambika Chaudhary the party met a similar drubbing at the hands of Independents.

Independents bagged majority of the nagar palika parishad and nagar panachayats seats in Saharanpur, Muzzafarnagar, Meerut and Baghpat considered a stronghold of ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) and Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD).

RLD chief Ajit Singh suffered embarrassment in Baghpat as the Independents captured both the nagar palika parishad chairman post and six nagar panchayat chairman posts.

With few months left for the Vidhan Sabha election it’s time for the political parties to mull over their strategy. The political experts feel that there might be regrouping and alliance among the political forces before the poll.