Inter-university hockey: Mixed day for MP teams | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Inter-university hockey: Mixed day for MP teams

india Updated: Dec 27, 2006 01:53 IST

IT WAS a mixed day for Madhya Pradesh universities on the inaugural day of the West Zone Inter-University Hockey Championship here. While RDVV Jabalpur, LNIPE Gwalior and Jiwaji University Gwalior won their respective matches, the universities of Indore, Ujjain and Sagar suffered defeats.

The six-day championship began at Maj Dhyanchand Grounds of Barkatullah University on Tuesday. Rani Durgawati Vishwavidyalaya (RDVV-Jabalpur) made mincemeat of MPK Rauri, scoring a 12-00 victory in the inaugural match. Jiwaji University Gwalior scripted a facile 6-1 victory over Nanded University in the second match.

Laxmibai National Institution for Physical Education (LNIPE) Gwalior was the third team from the State to register a convincing win on Tuesday. However, LNIPE defeated Dr Hari Singh Gour University Sagar — another State team. LNIPE defeated Sagar University 4-0. 

Vikram University Ujjain went down to Amrawati University in the fourth match. It was a dismal performance by Ujjain as they were beaten 0-6. DAVV Indore was another team from the State that suffered a setback. It lost to Aurangabad University 0-1.

In the other matches, Bikaner University defeated Saurashtra University 6-1, Gujarat University pipped Surat University 1-0, Jodhpur University defeated Udaipur University 7-1, and Nagpur University defeated Bhavnagar University 4-1.

Earlier, chief guest of the opening ceremony, Barkatullah University Vice-Chancellor Pros R S Sirohi declared the meet open. In his address he said that India had a name in the world hockey but for the last couple of years the standard of the game had deteriorated.

Organising secretary Prof H S Yadav said that BU has successfully organised a number of sports events since its establishment. He said that a big stadium is under construction on the university premises on which Rs 30 lakh has been spent.

Director sports Dr Akhilesh Sharma, registrar in charge Dr Anand Kamble, Dr Rajesh Tripathi, Dr Rajesh Mishra, Y S Chahar, Ismail Khan, Hassu Khan, Khalil Khan, Dr Aloke Mishra, Tanwar, Yogendra Singh Sengar, Sushil Jha and others were present.