Interesting facts about the tournament | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Interesting facts about the tournament

india Updated: Sep 10, 2007 18:16 IST

* The tournament features 12 teams, including all the 10 Test-playing countries and two non-Test playing teams.

* The 10 Test-playing teams automatically qualified for the tournament.

* The non-Test playing teams qualified from the World Cricket League event in January and February.

* Three ICC match referees and nine umpires will officiate the matches.

* England will host the tournament in 2009, Sri Lanka in 2012 and Bangladesh in 2014.

* The ICC decided that South Africa and England should host the first two tournaments because they were the earliest adopters of the format.