Internship camp for meritorious students begins at agri varsity | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Internship camp for meritorious students begins at agri varsity

india Updated: Oct 22, 2013 18:10 IST
HT Correspondent

A five-day Innovation in Science Pursuit for Inspired Research (INSPIRE) internship camp for 150 meritorious students from the districts of Chamba, Hamirpur and Kangra began at CSK HP Agricultural University, Palampur, on Tuesday.

Vice-chancellor Krishan Kumar Katoch while inaugurating the camp asked the students to pursue a career in science and help the nation in creating a rich human resource pool in various branches of science.

“The department of science and technology, Government of India, has initiated a number of programmes to attract young students for science and INSPIRE has been able to create a joy of learning and innovation among school students,” said Katoch.

He said studentship was a wonderful period to experiment, learn and choose career and it was the duty of teachers to help the young minds to explore all possibilities of growth.

“It is imperative to enrich human resource of the nation so that it may achieve new heights in various areas of development,” said Katoch.

He also appreciated the efforts of programme coordinators for inviting students from the remote areas of Chamba district as it was considered most backward and needed attention of such innovative programmes.

Dr Katoch also spoke on the importance of agricultural sciences in food security of the nation.
Programe coordinator and head of microbiology department Dr SS Kanwar said the university had already organised six INSPIRE camps in the past benefiting around 900 students.

He added that the students who scored 84% more marks in the matriculation examination were invited to attend such camps.

“This year, scientists from HPU, CUHP, IHBT, Mandi IIT, Punjab University and the host university will be interacting with the students,” said Dr Kanwar. The inaugural session was attended by the statutory officers and scientists from the host university.