Inzy cleared of ball tampering | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 06, 2016-Tuesday
-°C
New Delhi
  • Humidity
    -
  • Wind
    -

Inzy cleared of ball tampering

india Updated: Sep 29, 2006 12:14 IST
Highlight Story

Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul Haq was on Thursday banned for four one-day internationals for bringing the game into disrepute, the International Cricket Council said.

Inzamam was cleared of ball tampering, the other charge made against him at the end of the fourth Test against England at the Oval last month.

"Inzamam has been cleared of ball tampering but was found guilty of bringing the game into disrepute. It is a Level 3 offence and he has been banned for four ODIs with immediate effect," ICC spokesperson James Fitzerald said.

Inzamam has 24 hours to make an appeal against the verdict that was given after a Code of Conduct hearing by ICC Chief Match Referee Ranjan Madugalle at the Oval ground.

Should his appeal be overturned, he will miss the Champions Trophy to be held in India from October 7 to November 5.

The charges against Inzamam were made by umpires Darrell Hair of Australia and Billy Doctrove of the West Indies after Pakistan forfeited the Oval Test.

Hair had penalised the team five runs for ball tampering on the fourth day of the match and Pakistan protested by refusing to take the field after tea.

tags