Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul Haq will not appeal against the four-match ban slapped on him by the International Cricket Council as he believed the verdict was fair and the punishment lenient.
Inzamam said he was happy that the team had been cleared of the more serious charge of ball tampering which tantamounted to cheating and that he had no regrets about missing next month's Champions Trophy in India.
"I am happy we have been cleared of a charge that was the basis of what happened in the Oval Test. We are sorry that we could not finish the Test against England but the main cause of our protest is now behind us," he told PTI on phone from London immediately after the verdict was announced.
The Pakistan skipper was cleared of ball tampering but banned for four one-dayers for bringing the game into disrepute.
"I have no regrets at all because we have been cleared of the ball tampering charge which was a serious accusation against us and basically meant we were cheating in the Test. Everyone knows that we were in a strong position to win that game," he stated.
He said he had no intentions of appealing against the ban because the hearing had been fair.
Sources said Australian umpire Darrell Hair, who had laid the charges against Inzamam, left the venue immediately in a huff after he learnt that Inzamam was cleared of ball tampering charge and had been banned for just four games. More