J-K elections: Omar wins Beerwah, loses Sonawar | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

J-K elections: Omar wins Beerwah, loses Sonawar

india Updated: Dec 24, 2014 09:29 IST
HT Correspondent/Agencies

Jammu and Kashmir chief minister Omar Abdullah registered win in Beerwah while he lost to PDP's Mohammad Ashraf Mir in Sonawar constituency by 4700 votes. His cabinet's finance minister Abdul Rahim Rather lost from Charar-e-Sharief after 37 years while Ali Mohammad Sagar and Shameema Firdous won from Khanyar and Habbakadal seats.

Jammu and Kashmir CM Omar Abdullah congratulated Ashraf Mir from the People's Democratic Party for winning the assembly elections form Sonawar.

Omar Abdullah took to twitter and congratulated Mir.

"Congratulations to Ashraf Mir for his victory in Sonwar. I wish him and the people all good luck for the next 6 years. He's now my local MLA," tweeted Omar.

Meanwhile, PDP patron Mufti Mohammad Sayeed registered win from Anantnag constituency. His party also won fourseats of Karnah, Zadibal, Batamaloo and Amira Kadal. Bharatiya Janta Party's Hina Bhat and National Conference's Nasir Aslam Wani lost to PDP's Altaf Bhukari from Amira Kadal.

People's Conference leader Sajjad Gani Lone won from Handwara constituency in Jammu and Kashmir.

"I am thankful to the people. This was a challenge for me. I have given an answer," said Lone.

Bharatiya Janata Party's Ravinder Raina won from the Nowshera assembly constituency in the Jammu and Kashmir assembly elections, defeating his nearest rival, People Democratic Party's (PDP) Surender Choudhary, by 9,503 votes.

Raina was allegedly attacked last week by the PDP workers.

Meanwhile, National Conference's Davinder Singh Rana today won the Nagrota Assembly seat of Jammu district by a margin of 4048 votes.

Rana, in his maiden bid to reach Jammu and Kashmir Assembly, polled 23,678 votes and defeated his rival Nand Kishore of BJP by a margin of 4048 votes. Kishore polled 19,630 votes and Rakesh Wazir of BSP finished third with 6422 votes, followed by Shiv Dev Singh of Congress with 4853 votes.

Nagrota assembly seat, which was carved out in 1996, was bagged by BJP MP and state BJP Chief Jugal Kishore Sharma twice in 2002 and 2008, while Ajat Shatru Singh had won the seat in 1996 assembly polls as National Conference candidate.

Nand Kishore is the brother of Jugal Kishore Sharma.

Ajat Shatru Singh, who had recently quit National Conference to join BJP, is the son of Congress MP Dr Karan Singh and grand son of Maharaja Hari Singh.

Rana is a trusted lieutenant of Omar Abdullah and served as political advisor to him.