Jash Jai and Anupam qualify for main draw | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 26, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Jash Jai and Anupam qualify for main draw

india Updated: Oct 02, 2006 16:26 IST

JASH JAI SINGHANI, Anupam Ureti, Meet Shah and Yash Bharawa of Madhya Pradesh have been qualified for the main draw in the U-14 and U-18 categories at the All-India Junior Talent Series tennis tournament organised by the Indore Tennis Club under the aegis of MP State Tennis Association. The main draw will begin tomorrow.

Parth Upadhya of Rajasthan has also been qualified in the U-14 category, while Maninder Singh, Shashi Bhushan of UP and Parth of Rajasthan have also been qualified for the main draw in the U-18 category.

The qualifying rounds were held on Sunday at the Indore Tennis Club grounds. Five matches in the under-14 and six matches in the under-18 category were played.

In the boys’ U-14 category, Meet Shah of MP beat Mohamed Hussain of UP by 7-0 while Parth Upadhaya of Rajasthan beat Nitin Choudhry of MP by 7-5. Milind Kakde of MP beat Anurag Jhaswar of MP 7-3, whereas Anurag Yadav of MP beat Vedant Jain of MP by 7-3.

Smresh Singh of UP beat Shrey Raj Saxena of MP by 7-6 (8-6) in a thrilling match. In the boys’ U-18 first round, Ramaya Kunkulol of Maharashtra beat Vedant Jain of MP by 7-0, while Shreyrat Saxena of MP defeated Kirti Damle of MP by 7-3.

Shashi Bhoshan of UP defeated Mohamed Hussain of UP by 7-1, whereas Rohit    Upasani of MP beat Gautam Iyer of MP by 7-5. Bhqvesh Gaur of MP beat Sankalp Ganghi of MP by 7-0 and Anupam Ureti of MP beat Harshal Saraf of MP by 7-0 to advance to the second round.

MP State Ranking Tennis: The MP Tennis Association will organise the second MP State Ranking tennis tournament from October 9 at Indore Tennis Club courts.

Secretary of the club Anil Dhupar said that matches would be held for sub juniors (boys), juniors, men and women (singles) and men’s doubles in the tournament.

He further said that the qualifying rounds would be played on October 9 and 10 and the main draw would begin October 11. The winners will get cash prize.