Jat quota violence fallout: Three HCS, 10 HPS officers suspended

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • Updated: May 20, 2016 19:23 IST

The Haryana government on Friday suspended three state civil services officers and 10 state police service officers for dereliction of duty during the Jat quota agitation in February this year.

These officials will be chargesheeted for departmental action under a major penalty clause, which includes the possibility of dismissal from service. Haryana director general of police (DGP) is also expected to order the suspension of several cops, including inspectors and sub-inspectors, next week.

The three suspended Haryana Civil Services (HCS) officers -- Dharmender Singh, Pankaj Kumar and Jagdeep Singh -- were posted as sub-divisional magistrates (SDM) at Gohana, Jhajjar and Hansi, respectively, during the quota violence. The three subdivisions witnessed a large-scale violence and the authorities’ failure to control it.

Though the state government is to yet to accord in-principle acceptance to the inquiry report submitted by the Prakash Singh committee, constituted to probe acts of omission and commission by the civil administration and police officials during the stir, top officials said since the panel report has corroborated available information indicating dereliction of duty and wilful negligence on part of these officers, it was decided to initiate punitive action against them.

The state government also suspended 10 Haryana Police Service (HPS) officers, who were posted as deputy superintendents of police (DSP) during the violent agitation in Rohtak, Jhajjar, Sonepat, Hisar and Bhiwani districts. They are Sukhbir Singh (Kalanaur, Rohtak), Surender Singh (Meham, Rohtak), Vijayendra Singh (headquarters, Rohtak), Pawan Kumar (Rohtak), Jagat Singh (Beri, Jhajjar), Sandeep Malik (Hansi, Hisar), Rajbir Singh (Loharu, Bhiwani), Vinod Kumar (Gohana, Sonepat), Sunil Kumar (Sonepat) and Satish Kumar (Gannaur, Sonepat).

Earlier, on February 25, the state government had suspended two DSPs posted in Rohtak -- Amit Dahiya and Amit Bhatia -- for dereliction of duty during the stir. The then inspector general of Rohtak range, Shrikant Jadhav, was also placed under suspension in February for mishandling and negligence. However, the state government reinstated him, with effect from March, on the technical ground that a chargesheet could not be filed against him within the fresh time limit of 30 days.

In its report, the Prakash Singh committee indicted 90 officials, including the Indian Administrative Service (IAS) and Indian Police Service (IPS) officers, for malafide and deliberate negligence. Among these officials, about 30% were from Rohtak, the worst-affected district during the quota violence. The officials against whom adverse remarks were made by the panel included the then Haryana director general of police, then deputy commissioners of Rohtak, Sonepat, Jhajjar and Hisar districts and then superintendents of police of Kaithal and Jhajjar.

also read

Bangladeshi man found locked in container at Vizag port
Show comments