Jaya replaces two candidates for LS polls | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Jaya replaces two candidates for LS polls

india Updated: Apr 11, 2009 12:25 IST

Two days after she released the list of party's Lok Sabha candidates AIADMK leader Jayalalithaa replaced two candidates stating that the change was necessary due to 'unavoidable circumstances'.

Jayalalithaa announced on Saturday that GK Inbaraj would replace R Rajan for the the Tiruvallur (Res) constituency, while K K Balasubramanian will be the new choice for Perambalur Lok Sabha seat, replacing R P Marudairaj.

The changes were made "under unavoidable circumstances" and "some new information," she said in a statement here without elaborating.

The party is fighting arch-rival DMK in both constituencies, with the latter fielding actor-politician D Napolean and Gayathri Sridharan in Perambalur and Tiruvallur, respectively. AIADMK is contesting 23 out of the 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu, leaving four to MDMK, six to PMK and three each to CPI and CPI (M).