Jayalalithaa wins big in RK Nagar bypoll, AIADMK celebrates

  • PTI, Chennai
  • Updated: Jun 30, 2015 14:05 IST

Tamil Nadu chief minister and AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa won in RK Nagar (Chennai) assembly constituency with over one 1.5 lakh votes. Bypoll for the seat was held on June 27.

After three rounds of counting that began at 8am, Jayalalithaa surged ahead with 30,033 votes as compared to 2,287 of CPI's C Mahendran.

AIADMK cadres and supporters went into a celebratory mode after Jayalalithaa's win. Some workers were seen distributing sweets and dancing near her Poes garden residence in Chennai. Tamil Nadu governor K Rosiah congratulated Jayalalithaa on her victory.

Jayalalithaa and Mahendran are facing each other in the North Chennai constituency even as 26 other candidates including social activist, 'Traffic' Ramaswamy alias KR Ramaswamy are in the fray.


Supporters celebrate as Jayalalithaa wins big in RK Nagar bypoll

The by-election was necessitated following AIADMK's P Vetrivel vacating the seat in May, apparently to enable Jayalalithaa seek re-election.

She has to fulfil the constitutional requirement of getting elected as MLA within six months of becoming the chief minister.

She returned to the top post on May 23 after being acquitted in a disproportionate assets case by the Karnataka high court. She had been convicted in the case in September last by a trial court in Bengaluru.

Meanwhile in Kerala, Congress candidate KS Sabarinadhan notched up an emphatic win in the Aruvikkara by-election, defeating CPI(M)’s M Vijayakumar, a former minister, by more than 10,000 votes.

also read

Supreme Court upholds govt order capping prices of essential drugs
Show comments