Jenson Button wins Spanish GP | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Jenson Button wins Spanish GP

india Updated: May 10, 2009 19:56 IST
Highlight Story

Jenson Button has won his fourth Formula One race of the season by taking the Spanish Grand Prix ahead of Brawn GP teammate Rubens Barrichello.

Button's two-stop strategy proved decisive as he became the ninth straight winner from pole position at the Circuit de Catalunya, even after Barrichello overtook him out of the start.

Barrichello's extra pit stop allowed Button to make up the difference, and the Briton won by 13 seconds to extend his championship lead over his teammate to 14 points after five races. Red Bull's Mark Webber finished third ahead of teammate Sebastian Vettel, who trails Button by 18 points in third overall.