Jharkhand parties crash babus' poll dreams | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 31, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Jharkhand parties crash babus' poll dreams

india Updated: Nov 10, 2014 11:12 IST
Rajesh Upadhyay

Several Jharkhand babus -- who quit their lucrative government jobs for political power – may find their ambitions dashed with only three bureaucrats getting tickets for the forthcoming assembly polls in the state.

These three candidates are among more than a dozen IAS and IPS officers -- besides a technocrat and a state civil servant -- who had quit service for a second innings in politics (see chart).

Assembly elections will be held in the state in five phases starting November 25.

Most of these officers had joined the resurgent BJP in the hope of riding the Modi wave to the assembly.

While the BJP put faith in former home secretary and IAS officer JB Tubid (Chaibasa) and IPS Laxman Prasad Singh (Dhanwar), the Congress gave the ticket to another IAS officer Vinod Kispotta (Gumla).

Sources said that though the discarded officers may still contest as independent candidates, their chances of winning would be much less in the potentially tough contests involving the BJP, JMM and Congress among others.

State BJP president Ravindra Rai said that the selection of candidates was based on their winning chances.

“Moreover, none of the new members, whether former bureaucrats or political leaders, were inducted on the condition that they will be given tickets,” he added.

Among the political aspirants, Amitabh Choudhary, the president of the Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA), and two IPS officers Subodh Prasad and VD Ram had contested the parliamentary elections on JVM-P, AJSU Party and BJP tickets respectively.

While Ram won from Palamu, Choudhury and Prasad lost.

In fact, Choudhary -- after forfeiting his security deposit in Lok Sabha polls -- had joined the BJP with the hope of bagging the ticket from either Hatia or Godda assembly.

Choudhury, however, played down the denial of ticket to him.

“Denial is not the right word. How can you deny when one has not asked for anything? I have been concentrating on cricket right now as an ODI between Sri Lanka and India is slated on November 16 (in Ranchi). After that, I will campaign for the party,” he told HT when reached for his reaction.

Sources said that a Punjab cadre IPS officer Arun Oroan -- husband of state human resources development minister Geetashree Oraon -- had furnished voluntary retirement application to contest the Lok Sabha polls from Lohardaga on a BJP ticket.

He was sidelined in favour of Sudarshan Bhagat, now a minister of state in the Modi cabinet.

Oraon has since rejoined duties, the sources added.

In a related development, a court in Ranchi has issued arrest warrant against Biglal Oraon (IPS) who had filed nomination as an independent from Lohardaga seat, sources said.

The warrant was in connection with a pending case.



Who got tickets

JB Tubid (IAS)

Laxman Prasad Singh (IPS)

Vinod Kispotta (IAS)

And who didn’t

Mukhtyar Singh (IAS)

Vimal Kirti Singh (IAS)

Amitabh Choudhary (IPS)

Sheetal Oraon (IPS)

Nandu Prasad (IPS)

Manoj Mishra (IPS)

Subodh Prasad (IPS)

VD Ram (IPS)

Amitabh Choudhary, president, JSCA

GK Pillai, CMD, HEC

Dilbar Jonko, Jharkhand civil services