Journalism institute?s convocation today | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Journalism institute?s convocation today

india Updated: Oct 30, 2006 16:29 IST

THE CONVOCATION ceremony of Makhanlal Chaturvedi National University of Journalism will take place in the State Assembly auditorium on Monday afternoon.

Governor Dr Balram Jakhar will be the chief guest at the function.   According to the earlier schedule, Vice President Bhairon Singh Shekhawat was to be the chief guest at the convocation ceremony but he will not be able to participate in the ceremony due to the change in the time of his arrival at Bhopal on Monday.

The Vice President is also the Visitor of the University. A number of senior journalists including Kanhaiyalal Nandan, Nand Kishore Trikha, Abhay Chhajalani, Tarun Vijay, N K Singh, Ashok Tandon, Harbansh, Radheshyam Sharma, Krishna Bihari Mishra and Narayan Dutta will also participate in the ceremony.

Besides, 150 alumni of the university working with different newspapers and media groups are also participating in the function. A get-together of former students of the university will also take place ahead of convocation ceremony at the new campus of the university Vikas Bhavan, M P Nagar.

During the convocation ceremony, topper students of different courses in the year 2005 will be conferred silver medals by the university.

Indrani Das, who topped in the post graduation course in journalism, will receive the Gitanjali Makan silver medal, Priyanka Tyagi, who topped in MA (MC) course will receive the Acharya medal, Dev Shri Mohanti, who topped in bachelor of journalism (one year course), will receive M G Vaidya silver medial, Saumya Chandra, who topped in the M P (PR) course will receive Hariprasad Chaturvedi silver medal and Abhay, who topped in the bachelor of journalism course will be given Prashant Kumar medal.