Karnataka, MP in semis | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Karnataka, MP in semis

india Updated: Feb 23, 2010 23:31 IST
Highlight Story

Karnataka beat Haryana by six wickets in a quarter-final match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy match here on Tuesday. Skipper Rahul Dravid invited Haryana to bat and medium-pacer R. Vinay Lumar proved his captain’s decision right as he struck on the second ball of the match to remove debutant opener Mukul Dagar for a duck.

The Haryana innings never got going and it was all-rounder Sachin Rana’s 81 (90 balls, 6x4, 2x6) which gave the team’s total some respectability, helping them reach 224 in 48.1 overs. Vinay Kumar finished with four for 45 in 10 overs. Chasing the target, Karnataka opener Ganesh Satish scored 70 (69 balls, 9x4, 1x6) before wicketkeeper Nitin Saini stumped him off Amardeep Sonkar. Dravid contributed 77 (65 balls, 9x4) before giving a catch to Sanjay Budhwar off Pradeep Sahu.

Brief Scores: Haryana 224 (S Rana 81, R. Vinay Kumar 4/45, R Bhatkal 3/21) lost to Karnataka 225/4 (G Satish 70, R Dravid 77) by 6 wkts.

Ojha hits ton

In Ahmedabad, Madhya Pradesh beat Orissa by five wickets. Put in, Orissa made a modest 227. Opener Paresh Patel made 41 (64 balls, 5x4) with Niranjan Behra chipping in with 44 (75 balls, 3x4). Amarjeet Singh and Ankit Sharma took three wickets each. Wicketkeeper-batsman Naman Ojha scored 109 (137 balls, 12x4, 2x6) and remained unbeaten. He was well supported by Monish Mishra (47).

Brief Scores: Orissa 227 (P Patel 41, N Behera 44, Amarjeet 3/41, Ankit 3/43) lost to MP 231/5 (N Ojha 109 n.o, M Mishra 47) by 5 wkts.