Kavita pips Asiad medallist to win title | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Kavita pips Asiad medallist to win title

india Updated: Feb 22, 2011 01:19 IST

Kavita Raut annexed the 5000m title, outpacing her Asian Games nemesis Preeja Sreedharan to make it a double, while Indian sprint star Abdul Najeeb Qureshi slipped to third spot as track and field events concluded in the National Games.

But Kerala athletes took the overall honours finishing on top with a haul of nine gold, 10 silver and eight bronze, ahead of Services (7-1-5) and Punjab (5-5-5) as a total of 44 yellow medals were up for grabs.

Having beaten the Asian Games 10,000m gold-medallist earlier for the gold medal, the concluding day of athletics witnessed the Maharashtra tribal girl notching a double when she pipped the national record holder from Kerala, clocking 15:54.26 min to shatter the 12-year-old record set by Sunita Rani (16:05.36). Preeja's timing of 15:54.98 also bettered the meet record.

In another upset of sorts, Indian sprint king Abdul Najeeb Qureshi was pushed to the third spot in 200m when Services' Nitin Kumar snatched the title from Andhra's M Manikanandaraj after a photo finish. Nitin Kumar and M Manikandaraj clocked an identical 21.74.

Services also clinched the 4x400m relay gold when the quartet of RK Gerorge, Prem Anand, Kunju Mohd and Mortuza clocked 3:09.54, as Punjab's Satinder Singh, Satnam Singh, Kuldev Singh, Davinder Singh had 3:09.82 for silver.

Sandeep stuns Diwakar

Olympian Diwakar Prasad's campaign came to an end as the Jharkhand boxer was beaten by Haryana's Sandeep on Monday.

The young pugilist delivered accurate punches to surge ahead in the first round. He maintained his good form in the subsequent rounds before wrapping up the bout 2-0 to move into the semifinal of the lightweight (60kg) bout.

V Durga Rao of Karnataka, Neeraj Goyal of Tripura and Kerala's Kulwinder also moved into the semis after they defeated Amit Roy of West Bengal, Akshay Kumar of Delhi and Ankit Thakur of HP.