Leaders congratulate Jaya | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 26, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Leaders congratulate Jaya

india Updated: May 14, 2011 12:56 IST

A host of national and regional leaders have extended their greetings to AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa, who is all set to head the state for a third time after trouncing DMK in the Tamil Nadu Assembly polls.

BJP leaders LK Advani, Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi, Leaders of Opposition in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley, respectively, greeted the 61-year-old leader over phone, an AIADMK release here said.

Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit, West Bengal Governor MK Narayanan, Orissa Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, TDP leader Chandrababu Naidu and CPI national secretary D Raja were among others who congratulated Jayalalithaa on her party's performance in the polls, the release said.

Scripting a spectacular comeback, the AIADMK juggernaut rolled over the ruling DMK, winning 150 of the 160 seats it contested in the elections, and securing an absolute majority on its own in the 234-member Assembly.

The AIADMK front won 203 while rival DMK-led alliance 31.