Live: 27.52% polling recorded till 1 pm in Maharashtra | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 20, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Live: 27.52% polling recorded till 1 pm in Maharashtra

Voting in 19 Lok Sabha constituencies of Maharashtra began, marking the third and final round of voting in the state. A total of 338 candidates, including heavyweights such as Milind Deora and Gurudas Kamat, among others, are in the fray.

india Updated: Apr 24, 2014 19:47 IST
HT Correspondent

An average 56.26% voter turnout was recorded in the 19 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra, where polling was held on Thursday in the third and final phase.

The highest turnout was in Dindori (ST) at 64%, while the lowest was in Kalyan at 42%, election office sources said.

The final voting figure may change, they said.

The constituency-wise voting percentage: Nandurbar-ST (62%), Dhule (59%), Jalgaon (56%), Raver (58%), Jalna (63%), Aurangabad (59%), Dindori-ST (64%), Nashik (58%), Palghar (60%), Bhiwandi (43%), Kalyan (42%), Thane (52%), Mumbai North (52%), Mumbai North West (60%), Mumbai North East (53%), Mumbai North Central (55%), Mumbai South Central (55%), Mumbai South (54%) and Raigad (64%).

A total of 338 candidates, including heavyweights such as Union minister Milind Deora and Congress leader Gurudas Kamat, among others, are in the fray.

In the country's commercial capital Mumbai, the ruling Congress had put up a spectacular show in 2009, winning five constituencies. Its ally Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) had bagged the remaining seat.

Riding on a projected 'Modi wave', the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-Shiv Sena alliance is confident about its prospects amid talks of anti-incumbency this time.

The Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS), another key player in the state, has sent out confusing signals. MNS chief Raj Thackeray has launched a renewed offensive on Uddhav Thackeray, Shiv Sena leader and his estranged cousin.

He has also expressed solidarity with BJP's prime minister nominee Narendra Modi, but has fielded candidates against the saffron party.

Of the 19 seats, while the BJP is contesting 11, the Shiv Sena will fight from eight. The Congress and the NCP have fielded candidates from 10 and eight seats, respectively. The MNS will fight from seven seats and the Left Front from five. The BSP is contesting all the 19 seats.

Nearly 31.7 million voters are eligible to exercise their franchise at 34,343 polling stations in the third round.

The recent development of at least six million names having been deleted from the voter's list has unnerved all parties, especially in the constituencies where the winning margins were very thin in 2009.

Thane (20,72,476 voters) is the largest constituency, while Mumbai South Central (14,46,979 voters) is the smallest.

In this phase, Aurangabad has the highest number candidates (27) and Nandurbar has the lowest (9).

Earlier, 10 seats in the Vidarbha region had gone to polls on April 10, while voting for 19 seats in Marathwada and western Maharashtra regions was held a week ago.

Here's a map for the constituencies going to polls on Thursday. On searching, you will get details of all parties fighting from a constituency and key candiates there:

Facts and Figures