Live: 5 remaining Rajasthan seats vote today | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 21, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Live: 5 remaining Rajasthan seats vote today

india Updated: Apr 24, 2014 08:44 IST
Rashpal Singh
Rashpal Singh
Hindustan Times
Live Coverage of Lok Sabha elections on Hindustan Times

Polling for the Lok Sabha elections conclude in Rajasthan on Thursday as voters cast their ballot in the five remaining seats in the sixth phase of the world's biggest vote.

Two Union ministers are in the fray in the second phase of polling in the state. Union minister of state for finance, Namo Narayan Meena, is contesting against his brother and former DGP HC Meena, who is a BJP candidate from Dausa. Tribal leader Kirodi Lal Meena is also contesting from the constituency.

Union minister of state for sports, Jitendra Singh, is pitted against the BJP's Mahant Chandnath from Alwar.

Former cricketer Mohammad Azharuddin is facing the BJP's Sukhbir Singh Jaunpuria from Sawaimadhopur-Tonk constituency. The former Indian skipper is a sitting MP from Moradabad in Uttar Pradesh.

Around 81 lakh people are eligible to exercise their franchise to elect five MPs out of the 81 contestants from Dausa, Alwar, Bharatpur, Karauli-Dholpur and Sawaimadhopur Lok Sabha constituencies on Thursday.

The Congress, the BJP and the BSP have fielded five candidates each, while there are 20 Independents and 37 nominees from other parties.
Altogether 9,112 polling stations, including 2,667 critical ones, have been set up in the five constituencies.

More than 45,000 security personnel, including central forces, have been deployed to ensure fair polls.

The state recorded 63.25% polling for 20 of its 25 seats in polling on April 17— an increase of 15.16% points compared with the 2009 figures.

The BJP had unseated the Congress in assembly elections in the state last year with a comfortable majority.

Analysts say the Congress' poll management has been weak and haphazard. Sachin Pilot, whose fate was sealed in the first phase of polling in the state, has been unable to devote time to guide the party's strategy. Central leaders and frontal organisations roped in to boost the morale of the dispirited party workers have also not lived up to the task, they add.

The Congress, however, is hoping to retain the Karauli-Dholpur seat as the party registered wins on five out of eight assembly segments in last year's assembly polls. The BJP could win only two seats while one seat went to the Bahujan Samaj Party.

With inputs from PTI

Here's a map for the constituencies going to polls on Thursday. On searching, you will get details of all parties fighting from a constituency and key candiates there:

Facts and Figures