Long queues for Goa voters, Parrikar says Modi not the only factor | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Long queues for Goa voters, Parrikar says Modi not the only factor

india Updated: Apr 12, 2014 10:41 IST
Goa polls


Long queues formed Saturday at polling stations across Goa where balloting is being held in both its Lok Sabha constituencies.

Nearly 13 percent of Goa's 1,057,499 voters cast ballot within the first two hours since polling started at 7 a.m., officials said.

Nearly 65,000 people cast their ballot for the North Goa seat by 8.45 a.m., according to poll officials. In South Goa, 65,364 votes were cast.

All the four key contestants cast their ballot within half an hour of the booths' opening.

Chief minister Manohar Parrikar cast ballot at the Massan de Amorim polling booth in the capital. He said the Bharatiya Janata Party would win both seats and that voters had come out in large numbers to vote out the corrupt Congress-led United Progressive Alliance.

"Goa does not see lines like these in Lok Sabha elections otherwise," Parrikar said.

Parriker spoke of Modi, stating that the PM candidate was not the only factor that mattered in Goa in the Lok Sabha election.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has refrained from focussing too much on Modi in the state which has a 27 percent Catholic population.

A pre-poll diktat by the Church in Goa had damned good governance claims by both the Manohar Parrikar-led Goa government and the Modi-led Gujarat government. The Church directive also asked its flock to keep communal forces at bay.

The main poll plank used by by the BJP in Goa was the "good governance" administered by its government under Parrikar's leadership.

Asked whether there was an anti-incumbency vote in Goa, Parrikar said: "I feel pro-incumbency."

The chief minister also described the Congress's condition as a "desperate party" that is about to lose power.

Voting in Goa ends at 6 p.m.

A total of 1,622 polling booths have been put up.

The main contenders for the North Goa seat are sitting MP and BJP candidate Shripad Yesso Naik, Congress candidate Ravi Naik and Dattaram Desai from the Aam Aadmi Party.

Aleixo Reginaldo from the Congress and BJP's Narendra Savoikar will fight it out for the South Goa seat.

The Congress party has won this seat in 10 out of 14 Lok Sabha elections.