MAPCOST gets full autonomy | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 02, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

MAPCOST gets full autonomy

india Updated: Aug 25, 2006 15:10 IST

IN A major move likely to expedite the science and technology research and promotion work in the State, the State Government on Thursday provided full autonomy to the MP Council of Science and Technology (MAPCOST), reconstituting the executive committee and the general body of the council.

As per a notification issued on Thursday, the council from now on will function autonomously and Director General (Dr Mahesh Sharma) would be the chairman of the executive committee. Before this, State science and technology minister headed the executive committee of the council.

The base of the executive committee has also been widened to involve more scientists, academicians and representatives of voluntary action. The Chief Minister will head the 61-member general body and eminent medico and head of department with Hamidia Hospital Dr Madhav Hari Kanhere will be the vice-president.

Speaking to the Hindustan Times, MAPCOST Director General Dr Mahesh Sharma said full autonomy would mean stronger and faster internal decision mechanism that would immensely help in expediting day-to-day administration, financial and technical activities.

He said the council is poised to take up a number of activities with focus on 11-point agenda for science and technology development as put forth by President Dr APJ Abdul Kalam. The priority area would be biotechnology while the present focus activity of natural resource mapping and planning through use of remote sensing would also continue.

The new executive committee, headed by the Director General includes Avadesh Pratap Singh University Vice-Chancellor Prof A D N Vajpayee, Dr Harisingh Gour University Vice-Chancellor Dr D P Singh, former vice-chancellor of Jeewaji University, Gwalior, Dr Radharaman Das, senior Gandhian social worker from Indore Padmashree TGK Menon, chairman of Laghu Udyog Bharti Ajay Narang and general secretary of Bharatiya Kisan Sangh Shiv Kumar Sharma.

Apart from this, principal secretaries of Science and Technology, Finance, Technical Education and Training, Commerce and the Industries and Employment departments or their representatives and the advisor of Union Science and Technology Department or his, her representative. The general body would include seven senior ministers, principal secretaries of nine departments, vice-chancellors of five universities, senior scientists, sociologists and representatives of industry, agriculture and medical fields.

The first meeting of the newly constituted executive committee would be held on August 31 while the first meeting of the general body would be held on September 17 at 11.00 am at Vigyan Bhavan (MAPCOST premises).