Maya’s party wants CM post in lieu of support

  • Faizan Haidar, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
  • Updated: Dec 08, 2013 01:11 IST

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), which so far had claimed they had no pre-poll or post-poll alliance in mind, has now said they are open to supporting a party in the event of a hung House. This offer, however, came with a rider.

In return for its support, the party wants its nominee to be made the chief minister.

Like the Janata Dal (United), which may also get to play a role in the formation of the next government with a broken verdict, the BSP too has decided to support a secular party. "We have kept our options open, but we will support a party with secular mindset. We are in the race to win 10-12 seats and if that happens, we would want the chief minister to be from the BSP," said ML Tomar, a Delhi BSP member.

Though both the parties have not named which party they have in mind, but it was apparent that their preference for the ‘secular’ tag mean the Congress.

However, both the parties are also apprehending horse trading and to pre-empt that situation they have called a meeting of their candidates to warn them against joining other parties.

"We have called a meeting of candidates and will brief them on what to do after the results are announced. We have our plan ready and are confident that winning candidates will not leave the party," Tomar added. JD(U) leaders too met candidates and claimed they were confident of winning at least five seats.

The five seats, where JD(U) may make a dent are: Sangam Vihar, Okhla, Dwarka, Burari and Matia Mahal.

Shoeib Iqbal, sitting MLA from Matia Mahal, who had joined the party a few days before the election, has also had an impact on the party’s prospects in the election. While Iqbal is confident of winning the seat again, Shoeb Danish, the party’s candidate from Okhla, is putting up a tough fight against sitting MLA Asif Mohammad Khan.

"We have not taken a decision on extending support and the final call will be taken by party chief Mayawati," said Ram Achal Rajbhar, Delhi BSP president.

BSP had won two seats and stood second on five seats in the last assembly elections. It’s vote share in 2008 was 14.05% and it was the third largest party in terms of vote share after the Congress and the BJP.

also read

Assembly polls: Sonia, Rahul say there will be
Show comments