Mayawati keeps her seat close to chest | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Mayawati keeps her seat close to chest

india Updated: Dec 17, 2006 01:24 IST

EVEN THOUGH Mayawati finalised candidates for 330 Vidhan Sabha seats, but has left party men guessing from which seat she would contest the crucial Vidhan sabha election.

However, speculation is rife that Mayawati might contest the Vidhan Sabha election from Haroda seat in Saharanpur district. On Friday, Mayawati had declared candidates on all assembly segments in Saharanpur district barring from her old fort — Haroda..

In 2002, Mayawati had contested assembly election from Haroda along with Jhangipur assembly seat in Ambedkarnagar district. Though she emerged winner on both the seats but retained Haroda as she won by larger margin than Jhangirpur seat.

She had contested 1996 Vidhan Sabha election from Bilsi assembly segment in Baduan district. Though BSP has finalised candidates on Jhangirpur and Bilsi seats, but the party sources say that she would keep her option open till the filing of the nomination papers. The candidates whose names have been finalised from these seats might be directed to file nomination papers from other constituencies or could be sent to the Upper House (Vidhan Parishad).

Mayawati had contested the 2004 Lok Sabha election from Ambedkar Nagar seat and won with a thumping margin. Later, she vacated the seat and became member of the Rajya Sabha. According to party sources, Mayawati would file nomination paper for Vidhan Sabha election to boost the morale of the party cadre.

BSP leaders said that since the party has decided to contest Punjab and Uttranchal Vidhan Sabha election also, there would be a lot of pressure on Mayawati, as she would be the star campaigner of the party in the two states.
In such a situation, she might choose to contest the election from safe and secured seat.

Meanwhile, the BSP has decided to field senior party leader Paras Nath Maurya against Food and Civil Supplies Minister Raghuraj Pratap Singh alias Raja Bhaiyya from Kunda Vidhan Sabha seat.