Mayoral candidates get poll symbols | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Mayoral candidates get poll symbols

india Updated: Oct 16, 2006 01:07 IST

ELECTORAL OFFICER Ram Ganesh allotted symbols to mayoral candidates at the Lucknow Municipal Corporation office on Sunday.

The Bharatiya Janata Party, the Samajwadi Party, the Rashtriya Lok Dal, the Loktantrik Congress and the Congress candidates have been provided with the symbols of their respective parties.

The official party nominees and their symbols are: BJP’s Dinesh Sharma (lotus), SP’s Dr Madhu Gupta’s  (cycle), LCP’s Badrinath Agnihotri (chair), RLD’s Bhavan Singh Rawat (hand pump) and Congress’ Manzoor Ahmed (hand).

The symbols of some Independent candidates are: Akhilesh Sharma (kettle), Ajit (almirah), Anil Kumar Upadhyaya (painting brush), Girish Chandra Srivastava (coconut), Madhu Gupta (axe), Mahesh Diwan (kite), Ram Kumar (frock), 
Rajendra (banana), Shiv Kumar Gupta (lock and key), Shailendra Kumar Shailu (car), Major SN Tripathi (bell) and Shri Ram Sharma (bus).

In all, 17 candidates are vying for the mayor’s post. They include five party nominees and 12 independents.

An official said some candidates themselves recommended interesting symbols like chair, banana, frock, car, kite , lock and key.