Mikes fall silent to people?s relief | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 12, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Mikes fall silent to people?s relief

AS campaigning for the second phase of the civic election came to an end on Sunday evening, people heaved a sigh of relief. With this, the blaring microphones fell silent. However, before that, the electioneering reached its acme in Varanasi and Gorakhpur.

india Updated: Oct 30, 2006 01:16 IST

AS  campaigning for the second phase of the civic election came to an end on Sunday evening, people heaved a sigh of relief. With this, the blaring microphones fell silent. However,  before that, the electioneering reached its acme  in Varanasi and Gorakhpur.

In Varanasi, candidates left no stone unturned in a bid to woo voters throughout the day. Slogans of different political parties and their candidates echoed in the city.

 Motorcycle processions, padyatras, street corner meetings, public meetings and door-to-door canvassing continued during the day. Candidates contesting for the posts of corporator, mayor and Palika Parishad chairperson made a last-ditch effort to impress voters. 

The Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) will score a hat-trick if its candidate for the mayoral post Kaushlendra Singh wins the election. Earlier, the BJP retained the post of mayor for two terms in the Varanasi Nagar Nigam. Bharatiya Janata Party leaders Saroj Singh and Amarnath Yadav held this prestigious post respectively.
Congress mayoral candidate Chandredeo Prasad Jaiswal and workers toured the city and sought votes.

Similarly, Samajwadi Party candidate Kanhaiya Lal Gupta and party workers sought the support of city-dwellers.

Public Works Minister Shivpal Singh Yadav addressed a public meeting at the National Inter College in the Pili Kothi area here on Sunday. He reminded people of the development work initiated by the SP-led State Government.

A total of 10 candidates are in the fray for mayoral poll. The candidates are: Kaushlendra Singh (BJP), Kanahiya Lal Gupta (SP), Chandradeo Prasad Jaiswal (Congress), Ashok Yadav of the Bharatiya Jan Shakti Party, Haridwar Singh Yadav of the JD (U), Munavar Ali of the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), Gulshan Kapoor of the Shiv Sena, Usha Singh Chauhan of the Rashtriya Lok Dal, Brij Kishrore of the Nationalist Congress Party and Prahlad Jaiswal (Independent).
In Gorakhpur, the candidates, contesting the mayoral election, took out motorcycle rallies   in their last-ditch efforts to woo the voters. The election in the district will be held on October 31.

It was a big relief to the people as campaigning came to end and loudspeakers became silent.

State Minister Jaiprakash Yadav and Rambhual Nishad led the motorcycle procession in favour of SP candidate Sitaram Jaiswal.  The motorcycle procession of the SP passed through various routes and threw the traffic movement out of gear. Thousands of youths shouted slogans in favour of Mulayam Singh Yadav but they failed to break the silence of the voters. 

At the same time, Auto Rickshaw Union took out a procession in favour of BJP candidate Anju Chaudhary.

City unit president of SP Zia-ul-Islam enumerated the policies of state government. He said in a span of three year SP-led government had taken step for the welfare of all the sections of the society.

BSP supported candidate Chhedi Prasad Jaiswal criticised the State Government for deceiving the most backward caste by giving them the status of SC and depriving them from the recruitment in state government services.

Divisional incharge of the party Radheshyam Bharti appealed the people to vote in favour of Chhedi Jaiswal and  put a break on the commission system prevailing in the Municipal Corporation. Party leader Hari Prasad Jaiswal, Ajit Kumar and others also appealed the voters to ensure the victory of Chhedi Jaiswal to defeat the communal forces.

Divisional vice president of Vishwakarma Mahasabha, senior party leader Radhesharan Pandey and many others appealed the victory of SP candidates Sitaram Jaiswal. Around half a dozen leaders of BJP including Balkrishna Saraf, Vibhuti Bhushan Gupta, Omprakash Madhesia and others appealed the voters to vote in favour of BJP candidate.