Mizoram assembly poll counting to begin today

  • Agencies, Aizawal
  • Updated: Dec 09, 2013 08:01 IST

The counting of votes for 40-member Mizoram assembly election, held on November 25, would take place on Monday.

State joint chief electoral officer H Lalengmawia on Sunday said that elaborate security arrangements have been made in the counting centres in the eight districts.

Director general of Election Commission of India Ashish Srivastava and a number of observers have arrived to supervise and oversee the process, he said.

A total of 142 candidates, including six women, are in the fray.

The ruling Congress has contested all 40 seats as has Mizoram Democratic Alliance (MDA). MDA constituent Mizo National Front (MNF) has contested in 31, Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC) in eight and Maraland Democratic Front (MDF) contested in one seat.

Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) fielded candidates in 38 seats while BJP contested 17 seats.

Chief minister Lal Thanhawla of Congress is in the reckoning from Serchhip, his home turf, and neighbouring Hrangturzo. The main opponent MNF leader and former chief minister Zoramthanga is trying his luck from Tuipui East seat.

From Around the Web
Sponsored by Revcontent

also read

MP: Man with 5-day-old baby forced to get off after wife dies in bus
Show comments